My Reading Thoughts November ’23

I have failed my blog miserably over the past couple of months!  I haven’t written any blog posts, and I have gotten out of the habit of doing this.  I am feeling very down about this, almost as if I have failed myself.  But I have my reasons, and should be less hard on myself.  Since returning to work in September (after the summer break) I have found work very difficult.  Our whole day has been restructured, and what is already a difficult and draining job, has become worse.  As time has been passing, I have been getting a little more used to it, but it is very exhausting.  Some of the changes I don’t agree with,  and as a result of this I have been job searching.  It was a tough decision to come to, but I have decided to move onto pastures new.  A lot of time has been spent searching, and filling out application forms, so I think perhaps that is where my blog has become abandoned, not only that, I don’t think I have been in the correct headspace to write.  So far I haven’t had a lot of luck, quite literally!  The process seems to take so long between filling out application forms, and hearing back from employers, and then waiting for interview dates.  One interview I went for, I was told I was wonderful, but they had to re advertise the job, as they had given out the wrong information-this is the type of luck I have been getting!  I think I could write a book on this alone.  In fact, I think this is part of the problem, my dream job involves books, and writing, but I just can’t seem to access this!

Fortunately, the month of November hasn’t been a total wash out!  I have still been reading!

No of books read: 8

My favourite reads were:

  • Legend & Lattes by Travis Baldree
  • The Body by Carol Ellis
  • Slam Dunk 2 by Takehiko Inove

Books that made me think:

  • The Body by Carol Ellis

Unusual Activity for me:

  • Starting and stopping books because I just couldn’t settle!  I refused to be in a slump, but I think I was a little!

My overall favourite book was:

  • Legend & Lattes
  • The Body

In the month of November my daughter and I did a manga swap-she asked me to read Naruto book 1 and 2, and in return I asked her to read Demon Slayer 1 and 2-which I have become obsessed with!  The conclusion was I liked Naruto, but didn’t love it, and she felt the same way about Demon Slayer lol!  All three of us here have completely different tastes when it comes to anime and manga! 

In November  I purchased: 

  • A Housefly Buzzes In the Key of F by BBC Studios and Simon Nicholls
  • The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner
  • Sad Cypress by Agatha Christie
  • Curtain: Poirot’s Last Case
  • Dallergut Dream Department Store by Miye Lee
  • Shot with Crimson by Nicola Upson

Books I Received For My Birthday:

  • One Dark Window by Rachel Gillig
  • Books & Bonedust by Travis Baldree
  • The Life of Birds by David Attenborough
  • Harry Potter & The Prisoner of Azkaban: Mina Lima Edition

I’ve got some great books on my TBR for December, either Christmas themed, or cold and icy!  I really am very excited to get to read them all!

I am happy I am still enjoying my reading, and I hope that over the month of December, I can get back into the habit of blogging, and recommending you, the reader, some wonderful books!  

Thanks for reading, and until I blog again, keep reading.

Leave a comment