April is Here!

April is here!

This year I can honestly say I have failed, I have failed to keep this blog going as I would like. 

  If you have read my previous two posts you will recall that I made an immense decision to leave my job at college, and move back to the hospital where I previously worked.  When I left the hospital back in 2016 I claimed I would never return to their employment.  But here I am, I have now been in my current job for two months.  It has been stressful, leaving a job, and people, that I absolutely adored, but the changes that were happening at college- I could just not be a part of.  I think because of the stress caused by the move my blog went by the wayside,  there were other things to busy my brain with, and I needed to make room for that.  Fortunately, my reading has not suffered, and I’ve been enjoying the books I’ve read immensely!

All About the Books, let’s face it, thats why your here!

This year I claimed I was going to read Robin Hobb throughout the year! Wrong!  Instead I’ve been working my way through The Throne of Glass series!  I am reading each book very close together, some have been back to back.  This is the first time I have experienced doing this with a series, and I  have to say it really works!  My memory is really bad, but this way I know exactly who everyone is, and I can keep up with the story well.  I am currently reading The Whisperwicks by Jordan Less, but once I have completed this I will be moving on to tandem reading The Tower of Dawn and Empire of Storms.  I decided to read this series in the romantic order, and it placed Assassin’s Blade so nicely, after Heir of Fire.  I would highly recommend this order of reading.  

Today I finished reading Abroad in Japan by Chris Broad.  Although it is Waterstone’s book of the month for April, I was lucky enough to be gifted this for Christmas. I gave this book 4.5 stars.  It is a very interesting read, especially if you have a passion to visit Japan, although now I don’t know whether my interest has peaked, or if I am too scared to go.  Chris Broad is certainly a very honest writer.

Over the past couple of months  I have also worked my way through the Percy Jackson series, enjoyed some fantastic manga, such as Slam Dunk and Cat Gamer, and relived my childhood with a bit of Jacqualine Wilson due to her new adult book coming out in September this year!   I am also looking forward to reading my copy of The Familiar by Leigh Bardugo, the reviews for this are looking superb!  I also picked up Powerless by Lauren Roberts from The Works, so I am also really curious as to what this book will bring! 

I have really enjoyed reading so far this year, and I am thankful that I still felt like doing this amidst the chaos! What have you been reading, and what do you look forward to picking up in the future, I’d love to hear!  

Oh, and I will leave you with a current picture of my bookish embroidery journal!

Leave a comment